Wednesday, December 07, 2005


And then there were 8

Eight officially throw their hat in the ring for the ODP chair. From today's Hannah Report (sub. req.):
The Ohio Democratic Party (ODP) announced Tuesday that eight candidates have filed letters of intent to become the next state party chairman, replacing outgoing Chairman Denny White.

They are: Bill DeMora, Ohio League of Conservation Voters executive director and a former state political director for the party; former U.S. Rep. Dennis Eckart; Erie County Democratic Party Chairman David Giese; Athens County Democratic Party Chairwoman Susan Gwinn; Montgomery County Democratic Party Chairman Dennis Lieberman; Jane Mitakides, a Dayton-area businesswoman and former congressional candidate; Hamilton County Commissioner Todd Portune; and House Minority Leader Rep. Chris Redfern (D-Catawba Island).
We continue to believe that this abundance of candidates is a great thing that will allow a number of strategies to be weighed, and this might not be the end of the candidates. The party's state executive committee is suppose to tap a new chairperson Dec. 19, but last-minute candidates have until 5 PM on the Dec. 18 to submit letters of intent.


<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?